The Turn

********
The Turn
********
Lyrics by Rumi translated by Coleman Barks adapted by Unjay; Music by Unjay
except tracks 2 &5: Music by Unjay ©2008 Unjay. All rights reserved worldwide.
**********************************
~after midnight~

You have said what you are.
I am who I am.
You are here in my head,
my head here in my hands

Keep walking, though there’s no place go.
Don’t try to see through the distance.
That’s not for you and I.
Move within, but don’t move in fear.

A secret turning in us makes the universe turn.
Head unaware of feet,
and feet of head.
Neither cares. They keep turning.

This moment this love comes to rest in me,
many beings in one being.
In one wheat grain a thousand sheaf stacks.
In the needle’s eye a turning night of stars.

Inside water, a waterwheel turns.
A star circles with the moon.
We live in the night ocean
wondering, What are these lights?
What are these lights?

Something opens our wings.
Something makes boredom and hurt disappear.
Someone fills the cup in front of us.
We taste only sacredness…

I have lived on the lip of insanity,
wanting to know reasons,
knocking on a door.
It opens. I’ve been knocking from the inside!

Dance, when you’re broken open.
Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off.
Dance in the middle of the fighting.
Dance in your blood. Dance, when you’re perfectly free.

I am so small I can barely be seen.
How can this great love be inside me?
Look at your eyes. They are small, they are small
but they see the greatest things.

You have said what you are;
I am who I am.
You are here in my head,
My head here in my hands…

lyrics used by kind permission of the author

Posted on August 1, 2011, in The Lyrics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

